Welcome toSt George's C.E. Primary School


Who are the governors at St George's?

Name of Governor Role of Governor
Ms J Bach Chair of Governors & Foundation Governor
Mrs J Tyers Headteacher
Mr W Nkurunziza LA Governor & Vice Chair
Mrs R Platt Foundation Govenor
Mr R Cackowski Parent Governor
Miss K Grainger Staff Governor
Mrs T Kehoe Co-opted Governor
Mrs E Peters Co-opted Governor

Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests

All the governors and associate members of St George's CE Primary School listed above have signed the Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests.

Name & Date of Appointment

 Term of Office

Governor Type Specific Roles of GB Committee Membership Signed the register Details of any conflicting interest Governor at another school?
Mrs J Tyers

Building, Health & Safety
School Effectiveness
Finance & Staffing
Yes Headteacher at St Paul's CE Primary School Yes
Mr W Nkurunziza
31/07/2018 - 30/07/2022
Vice Chair of Governors
School Effectiveness
Finance & Staffing (Chair)
Yes Councillor for Salford City Council No
Ms J Bach
09/11/2021 - 08/11/2025
Chair of Governors
School Effectiveness
Yes None No
Mrs R Platt
24/01/2020 - 23/01/2024
Safeguarding Governor
Building, Health & Safety
Finance & Staffing
Yes None No
Miss K Grainger
17/12/2020 - 16/12/2024
Building, Health & Safety
School Effectiveness
Yes Relationship within school No
Mrs T Kehoe
26/03/2019 - 26/03/2023
Building, Health & Safety
Finance & Staffing
Yes K Door Services Ltd No
Mrs E Peters
12/01/2021 - 11/01/2025
Building, Health & Safety
School Effectiveness
Finance & Staffing
Yes None No

Mr R Cackowski


10/10/2022 - 9/10/2026 Parent  

School Effectiveness

Yes None No

This is a declaration of any personal or business interest they or any relative or person closely connected with them, have with businesses or other organisations that may have dealings with the school. This could for example include owning or having a relative work for a business that had dealings with school; having a relative working in or for school or being a governor of another school.

If any interest a governor has could be seen to cause a conflict of interest they would be asked to withdraw from any decision making concerned. This is to ensure that our governors can always be seen to be putting the interest of the school first.

If there is a potential conflict it is shown in the Register document. This document also shows the category of governor each person is, any specific role on the governing board and the committees they are members of.

More information about the requirements to complete and sign the Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests can be found on Salford City Council’s Governor Services web pages where you will also find the links to all the other local authority’s (LA) governing bodies’ personal, pecuniary or business interests registers.

Categories of Governors

The different categories of governors on our governing board are:

  • parent governors who have a child in school at the time of their election, and are elected by the parents with children at the school; 
  • staff governors who are members of staff at the school and are elected by their colleagues;
  • co-opted governors are appointed on to the governing board by the other members because they come from a specialist group, such as the business community or because they possess a particular skill which can contribute to the effective governance and success of the school;
  • local authority(LA) governors who are nominated by the local councillor and appointed by the governing board;
  • the Headteacher (HT) is also a member of the governing board by right of the position they hold in the school;
  • foundation governors are nominated by the parish and appointed by the Diocese Board of Education. (DBE) The term of office is usually for a term of 4 years. A foundation governor is someone who in the opinion of the parish and the diocese has the skills to carry out all the governing boards functions. They ensure that the school's character is preserved and developed. That the school is conducted in accordance with the foundations governing documents – In the case of church schools, the Trust deed.
  • The Ex-Officio governor is usually the incumbent of the parish connected to the school. The Ex-Officio comes under the umbrella of Foundation Governors. 

Attendance and Governing Board meetings 2021/2022

Please click here for a record of attendance at Full Governing Body and Committee meetings this academic year. 

The Governing Board meets once a term to receive information about school. Committees meet once a term or are convened as required. Contact with members of the Governing Board  should be made through the school office. Thank you.

Files to Download

Contact us at St George's C of E Primary School

Executive Headteacher:
Mrs J Tyers
Concord Place,
M6 6SJ